Italian Meatballs Part One

I figured nothing would kick off a cookbook experiment quite like a stand-by Joy of Cooking recipe. I decided to go with a classic and something I’ve always struggled with–meatballs. I’ve only attempted meatballs a handful of times and with little instruction but they always came out dry and, occasionally, inedible.

Being lucky enough to live a 10 minute walk from Philadelphia’s incredible Reading Terminal Market, I opted to shop for ingredients there. I didn’t have to start entirely from scratch, but pretty close. What was meant to be a temporary housing situation for me turned into a one year lease but I still treated my apartment like a hotel for the most part. In other words, I never really stocked my pantry.

The Terminal was surprisingly vacant for 5 p.m. and I made a bee-line for Martin’s Quality Meats. The recipe called for 100% ground beef, but I’ve always enjoyed pork/veal/beef meatballs so I decided to pick up half a pound of each of beef and pre-mixed ground. $3

Next I stopped by OK-Lee produce, the end-all of cheap fruits and veggies, for some fresh parsley. 69 cents

I picked up some peccorino cheese (substituting for parmigiano reggiano) at Downtown Cheese, then stopped by Salumeria for tomato paste. $1.50 + 3.69 = $3.19

On my way out of Reading Terminal I picked up some day-old rolls from Metropolitan Bakery to turn into bread crumbs. $2

Without counting the ingredients I had at home (wine, eggs, and all-purpose flour) my total came to $10.88.

To be continued Friday…

Leave a Reply

