Roasted tomatoes and garlic

So, I was fully not intending to make meatballs two weeks in a row but as I stated in my last post John Becker told me to and when one of the editors of Joy of Cooking tells you to cook something you don’t ask questions. Plus this week was utterly insane and I was relieved to have something simple to experiment with.

As you can see form my meatball post I didn’t make a sauce. This is because I absolutely loathe store bought red sauce and while I have a pretty great recipe for it it takes hours that I simply did not have. So when given the idea of roasting up a bunch of tomatoes and garlic and calling it a day I was sold. And good lord was it delicious

Slow-roasted tomatoes

4 to 5 large ripe tomatoes cut into 3/4 inch slices
1 teaspoon each confectioners sugar, salt, and black pepper
Olive oil
Chopped herbs of your choice

I arranged the tomatoes on a parchment lined baking sheet, sprinkled them with the sugar (I just cane sugar, came out just fine), salt and pepper, drizzled them with olive oil and topped them with basil. Popped them in my toaster oven at 250 and forgot about them for about 2-2 1/2 hours. I basically waited until they looked and smelled so delicious I couldn’t handle it anymore.

20120817-112109.jpg

20120817-112119.jpg

I may have eaten a few while they were cooking. You know, for science.

Roasted garlic

4 heads of garlic
Olive oil

Roasting garlic may be my favorite thing in the world. It takes almost no effort and it’s so delicious it should be illegal. Chop off the top of an entire head of garlic so the cloves are exposed, drizzle with olive oil and wrap tightly in tin foil. If roasting 4 heads alone (as in, without the tomatoes) bake them at 325 degrees for 45 minutes to an hour. I put these in along with the tomatoes and they finished at the exact same time.

20120817-112049.jpg

Chop up those tomatoes and sweet roasted garlic cloves and simmer them with your meatballs for about 10 minutes.

Seriously delicious and totally beautiful. I fully intend to have roasted tomatoes and garlic on hand at all times for the rest of the summer.

20120817-112032.jpg


Everyone say it with me now. Thank you, John Becker!

2 comments
  1. Instead of commenting about this in the forum, I’ll say a few words about your post here.

    That looks delicious. We had a bountiful harvest of garlic (We won’t mention the tomatoes) and roasting them sounds like a good idea. I was thinking of drying them for storage, but haven’t had the motivation to do so. If we have any tomatoes, I’ll try roasting those too. :)

    • Thank you! I definitely recommend roasting some of them. They get so soft they basically turn into a spread. So delicious.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

